Add or delete Portworx services


This topic explains how to add or delete a Portworx service from the Portworx Services page.

Add Portworx service

Note: In the Freemium plan, Portworx BaaS allows to add only one service per user.

To add more than one BaaS service as an Enterprise user:

  1. In the Portworx Services page, select Add Service.

    The Product Catalog page appears. By default, the SaaS option is selected for Portworx Backup.

  2. Select Continue.

    The Choose Your Plan page appears.

  3. Choose the PX-BaaS Enterprise plan, and then select Continue.

  4. In the New Service window -> Name box, enter a Portworx service name.

    Note: Portworx BaaS picks the company name from your Profile page, and prepends it to the Name box. The maximum number of characters that you can enter for a service name is 63, including the characters in the prepended domain name. For example, if the company name is “portworx” (which is 8 characters), then you can enter only 55 characters in the Name text box.
  5. Select Submit.

    A new Portworx Entrprise service appears in the Portworx Services page. The company name prepends to each service name that you add.

Adding a service provides you the infrastructure administrator privileges to the service.

When you add a service, the Portworx Services page displays one of the following status types::

  • Pending: the request to add a service is in queue
  • Provisioning: a service is being added
  • Active: service added successfully and ready to use
  • Not Reachable: when one or more pods are not reachable
  • Failed: when a service addition process fails

If you want to report Failed issues or seek answers to your queries, select the Support icon from the left panel of the Portworx BaaS portal:

Support page

Delete a service

Note: You can delete a service, only if you created it (service owner). Also, you cannot delete a Provisioning service.

To delete a service from the Portworx Services page:

  1. Select the vertical ellipses icon in a service you want to delete.

  2. Select Delete.

    Remove a Service

  3. In the delete confirmation window, select Confirm Deletion and then select Remove.

    Caution: Once you delete a service, you cannot undo it.

Last edited: Friday, Oct 21, 2022